John Abbott College and Foundation to reveal Hall of Distinction inductees

Inaugurated in 2016, the Hall of Distinction was created to recognize 50 members of the John Abbott College community to coincide with the College’s 50th anniversary in 2020. This long-awaited celebration is now going ahead and the 2022 honorees will be inducted on Thursday, September 15, 2022.

Nominated by their peers, the final eleven people selected for this honour personify the dedication and hard work that has shaped John Abbott College in so many different ways. They are:


  • James Vanstone – History teacher (45 years); Department Chair, History, Economics and Political Science; Chair of Academic Council
  • Jill Gowdey – Alumna (’73); Employee Student Activities department 1978 to 2014
  • André Marceau – JAC bus driver and outdoor education assistant 1977 to 2016



  • Annie Caron –  Health Sciences ’87; Freelance artist and retired soccer player
  • Frances Donald – Social Science Honours with Math ’05; Senior Managing Director, Chief Economist & Strategist at Manulife Investment Management
  • Darren Entwistle – Science ’82; President and CEO of TELUS
  • Greg Foss – Science ’82; Executive Director – Strategic Initiatives, Validus Power Corp
  • Phillip Grimm – Science Honours ’07; Engineer, Palantir Technologies
  • Shahir Guindi – Social Science ’84; National Co-Chair, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
  • Cynthia Kennedy – Science ’92; Vice-President, Distribution, Incendo & Quebecor Content
  • Bob McEwen – Social Science ’76; Partner, Cunningham’s Pub

As this is cause for celebration, a gala has been planned at the College. A limited number of tickets are on sale for the cocktail that will be served at 6 p.m. in the Stewart Dining Hall, followed by dinner and presentations.

Contact the John Abbott College Foundation ( for details.


Latest News
Teresa Berghello Named New Director General of John Abbott College
John Abbott College Student Receives Prestigious Grant from Aléo Foundation and Georges St-Pierre Foundation
John Abbott College Alumnus named Top 8 Academic All-Canadian
Navigating the Current Job Market: an information and networking event for recent AEC graduates
Building a toolkit for Biology in French, a second language
John Abbott College Student Takes Home Bronze at 2024 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship
JAC Student Selected as a Finalist for the Loran Scholar
John Abbott mentorship program focuses on mental health of racialized students
CEWIL Canada awards John Abbott College for Innovative French Language Learning Initiative
Mentorship program supporting students from racialized communities launched at John Abbott College
John Abbott College Commemorates Exceptional Journey at Goncourt des Lycéens
John Abbott College participates in prestigious French literary endeavour
Three recent John Abbott College graduates are among the 40 first-year university students currently working as Pages in the House of Commons
John Abbott College transcends linguistic barriers through the “Prix Goncourt des Lycéens”
John Abbott College unveils orange flag, designed by student-artist, in recognition of Truth and Reconciliation
Au collège John Abbott, on lit le prochain Goncourt
John Abbott College awarded by Colleges & Institutes Canada (CICan)
The John Abbott College Foundation celebrates its brightest students
John Abbott College Receives SILVER STARS Rating for Sustainability Efforts
The John Abbott College Foundation celebrates successful golf tournament.
John Abbott College – Student awarded Canada’s largest undergraduate scholarship
More Than a Student-Athlete: Becoming a Role Model On and Off the Field
John Abbott College Announces the First Peoples Garden & Microforest
Growing the Game of Volleyball in Indigenous Communities / Développer le volleyball dans les communautés autochtones
John Abbott Students at the Ste-Anne Residence Hospital || Les étudiants de John Abbott à l’hôpital de la Résidence Ste-Anne
JAC Dental Hygiene in the News!
Laureate for John Abbott College Students!
John Abbott College teacher releases new book
Appointment of Kim Martin as the Dean of Indigenous Education
John Abbott College and Foundation to reveal Hall of Distinction inductees
News for the Program Deans’ Office
back Skip to content