Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

Women’s Basketball on their way to Provincials

The women’s basketball team qualified for the RSEQ Division 2 provincial championships as they went 2-2 in the South West Conference finals to claim the fourth and final playoff berth.

The Islanders opened with a solid 80-51 in over St. Jerome Friday night at Abbott as Annie Pollender led all scorers with 25 points while Andrea Batrla and Kelly Corsi chipped in with 17 and 10 points respectively.

The action switched to Ahuntsic Saturday as the Islanders dropped a 74-57 decision to St. Jean. Pollender was the top scorer with 15 points. The Isles punched their ticket to Chicoutimi with a 79-40 win over Heritage College, with Pollender (19 points), Girlie Owusu (15) and Aaliyah Hamilton (10) all scoring in double figures in the victory.

Abbott closed out the weekend with an 85-63 defeat at the hands of the Montmorency Nomades. Darnelle Noel was top scorer with 20 points while Alexis Maniatis tallied 16 points and Pollender added 10.

Hockey Pushed Edouard Montpetit to the Limit

In a must win game at home on Friday night the Isles came away with a 5-4 overtime win. Hailey Burns had a hat trick and 2 assists, while Sara Levesque scored the overtime winner and potted 2 assists. This pushed the series to a deciding game 3 at Edouard Montpetit on Saturday night.

The Isles could only score once in the deciding game a goal by Jessica Bouchard in the third period but the Lynx already had a 3 goal lead. With the 3-1 loss the Isles season comes to a close.

Men’s Volleyball Season Comes to a Close

With a 1-2 record at the Conference finals, the Isles fail to qualify for Provincials. An easy win against Marianopolis (25-18, 25-18), did little to prepare them for what was to come. A driven Edouard Montpetit team came out and the Isles could not find an answer for the high hitting offence, losing 17-25, 21-25.

Now in a must win game against Montmorency the Isles fought back from an early 7-1 deficit to win the first set 26-24. The Nomades took the second set 19-25 to force a deciding third set with the provincial berth on the line. The Isles had the early lead and momentum at the side switch, up as much as 10-6, but the Montmorency team were able to capitalize on some untimely unforced errors by the Isles to take the match 14-16. Good luck to graduating players Justin Pemberton and Markus Nitka.

Cheer wraps up their season at Conference Finals

With another 8th place finish the Cheer team will not qualify for provincials at the end of the month.

For more information please contact Chris Hunter at 514-457-6610, ext. 5787 or chris.hunter@johnabbott.qc.ca

PHILOSOPHY

The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Chris Hunter Manager Sports & Recreation chrishunter@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Lester Torres Assistant Sports & Recreation lester.torres@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Center Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Shawn Malcolm Casgrain Center Evening shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Kristin Harmidy Casgrain Pool kristin.harmidy@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Dr. Richard Germain Team Physician 5308
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Catherine Berryman Athletic Therapist catherineberri@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
TBD Cheerleading Head Coach
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Ken Cave Lacrosse Head Coach dave.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Carlos Carvalho Men’s Soccer Head Coach ccarvalhomtl@hotmail.com
Valmie Ouellet Women’s Soccer Head Coach valmie.ouellet@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave Emory Swimming Head Coach dave_emory1@hotmail.com
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com