Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

Graduating Student Athletes with an 80%+ Average

This week the Islanders are proud to recognize 45 student athletes who are graduating this spring with an Academic average over 80%. These students show that excelling in academics while practicing a varsity sport is achievable. Recent data has shown that student athletes on average have a higher academic score than students who do not participate in any extra curricular activities. This reinforces the idea that varsity sports do not take away from the academic experience, but add to it.

Name Last Sport
James Cameron Baird Cross Country
Simon Baribeau Cross Country
Sandrine Bernard Flag Football
Shiv Bhargava Swimming
Rikki-Lee Blumenfeld Women’s Basketball
Samantha Clark Women’s Rugby
Jasmine Cumetti Swimming
Kurt D’Amour Swimming
Catherine Daignault Women’s Rugby
Julia D’Alleva Hockey
Hanifah Daniel Cheerleading
Charlotte Dansereau Women’s Volleyball
Marie-Ann Deschamps Women’s Volleyball
Noha Elsherbini Cross Country
Despina-Jamal El-Tayar Women’s Rugby
Connor Farrell Cross Country
Chloe Felx Swimming
Melanie Gauthier Flag Football
Akshay Grover Cross Country
Chloe Hamelin Flag Football
Leandre Jodoin-Michaud Swimming
Justin Zidle Men’s Soccer
Andrew Knopp Men’s Rugby
Olivia Makinson Women’s Rugby
Markus Nitka Men’s Volleyball
Rebecca Martinez Swimming
Nicolina Masella Women’s Soccer
Gabriella Morin Cross Country
Brianna Nellis Swimming
Sydney Netto Women’s Basketball
Nathalie Paquin Swimming
Christopher Patterson Swimming
Sabrina Plamondon Women’s Rugby
Marc Prevost Cross Country
Jeremy Pryde Football
Lauren Pugsley Cross Country
Austin Rikley-Krindle Swimming
Bailey Roy Women’s Rugby
Shayne Snape Cross Country
Marjorie St-Louis Women’s Volleyball
Michelle Sveistrup Swimming
Bianca Szczepko-Lavoie Cheerleading
Sophie Van Horne Women’s Rugby
Nikki Van Noord Swimming
Kate Ward Hockey

 

For more information please contact Chris Hunter at 514-457-6610, ext. 5787 or chris.hunter@johnabbott.qc.ca

PHILOSOPHY

The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Chris Hunter Manager Sports & Recreation chrishunter@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Lester Torres Assistant Sports & Recreation lester.torres@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Centre Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Shawn Malcolm Casgrain Centre Evening shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Kristin Harmidy Casgrain Pool kristin.harmidy@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Dr. Richard Germain Team Physician 5308
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Catherine Berryman Athletic Therapist catherineberri@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
TBD Cheerleading Head Coach
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Ken Cave Lacrosse Head Coach dave.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Carlos Carvalho Men’s Soccer Head Coach ccarvalhomtl@hotmail.com
Valmie Ouellet Women’s Soccer Head Coach valmie.ouellet@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave Emory Swimming Head Coach dave_emory1@hotmail.com
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com