Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

Women’s Basketball Lock in a Playoff Spot

The Isles solidified their hold on third place with a 75-64 victory over the Dawson Blues. The Islanders jumped out to a 24-11 lead in the first quarter and maintained a double-digit lead throughout the game.

Darnelle Noel led all scorers with 20 points while Andrea Batrla added 13 points to the winning cause. Zoe Arvanitis and Kelly Corsi chipped in with 11 and 10 points respectively.

Hockey Looking to get Home Ice Advantage for Playoffs

The long bus ride to Rimouski did not seem to affect the Isles as they came out strong and controlled the game from start to finish. Julia D’Alleva opened the scoring on a power play goal early in the second period, assisted by Annabel Faubert. Melina Krallis added a second goal in later that period. Aube Racine was again stellar in nets stopping all 16 shots she faced for her 5th shutout of the year leading the Isles to the 2-0 victory.

This sets up a critical game in St Laurent on Saturday night at 20h00. St Laurent is currently 3 points ahead of the Isles with a game in hand.

Women’s Volleyball Keeping Their Playoff Hopes Alive

The Isles needed to finish in the top 3 to keep their Regional hopes alive. They started the day with two tough matchups and fell behind 0-2 losing to Andre Grasset (20-25, 14-25) and St Jerome (17-25, 19-25). This left them with having to finish the day with wins in their last two matchups to keep those hopes alive.

They managed to pull off the win vs. Vieux Montreal (25-21, 25-21), setting up a must win game against Brebeuf. The Isles won the first set 25-22 in a set which was much closer than it needed to be. In the second set, fatigue started to set in as the Isles started with a 6-0 deficit. The deficit grew to 17-6 in the critical set, but the Isles fought hard and dug deep to slowly chip away at the lead and finally win the game 25-23.

The offense was led by Hayley Nesbitt (27 Kills) and Maxime Simoneau (20 kills). The team’s serving did not produce many aces but did manage to a solid 95% success rate on the serve. Blocking was led by Natasha Fracassi (12), Nesbitt (11), and Charlotte Dansereau (9). Defense was spread throughout the team with Olivia Sledge leading with 28 digs. Marjorie St Louis, celebrating a birthday, finished the day with 61 assists and 3 kills.

Swim Holding onto Top Spot

For the first time this season the Isles did not finish the combined meet in first place. The men held on to their undefeated record besting hosts Outaouais by 116.5 points. The ladies, due to many absences fell to 4th place 206.5 points behind 1st place Maisonneuve. The combined result still had the Isles in second place, good enough to hold on to top spot with 2 meets remaining before Provincials.

Men’s Basketball Slip out of a Playoff Spot

In the rescheduled game against Ste. Foy the Isles came out very flat and fell behind 24-9 after one quarter of play and then down 21 going into the locker room. It took some time but they did chip away to bring the deficit down to 5 points midway through the 4th quarter, but then Ste. Foy went on a 9-2 run to put the game out of reach.

Justin Owen-Renwick led the offence with 17 points will Terrell Shaw-Campbell added 11 points and 13 rebounds.

For more information please contact Chris Hunter at 514-457-6610, ext. 5787 or chris.hunter@johnabbott.qc.ca

PHILOSOPHY

The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Chris Hunter Manager Sports & Recreation chrishunter@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Lester Torres Assistant Sports & Recreation lester.torres@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Center Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Shawn Malcolm Casgrain Center Evening shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Kristin Harmidy Casgrain Pool kristin.harmidy@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Dr. Richard Germain Team Physician 5308
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Catherine Berryman Athletic Therapist catherineberri@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
TBD Cheerleading Head Coach
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Ken Cave Lacrosse Head Coach dave.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Carlos Carvalho Men’s Soccer Head Coach ccarvalhomtl@hotmail.com
Valmie Ouellet Women’s Soccer Head Coach valmie.ouellet@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave Emory Swimming Head Coach dave_emory1@hotmail.com
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com