Sports and Recreation

sportsrecreationhome

NEWS

Hockey on a Roll to Start the New Year

The Isles completed a suspended game from 2016 as they finished off the André Laurendeau Boomerang on Friday afternoon. They shut them out 1-0 on a goal by Juliana Classen. Aube Racine finalized her 2nd shutout of the year.

On Saturady at home the Isles dominated the visiting Cougars from Lennoxville. Racine was again on top of her game and recorded her 3rd shutout of the year stopping 23 shots. Classen had her 2nd game winning goal in as many matches as she scored midway through the 2nd period. Julia D’Alleva added an insurance goal as the Isles improved their record to 9-6-0-1.

Men’s Basketball Could not Keep up Their Early Success

The Isles came out on fire Friday night against the Brébeuf Dynamiques as they jumped out to a 23-18 first quarter lead. The tide turned halfway through the 2nd quarter and Brébeuf took a 45-36 lead to the locker room. After the break the Isles could not find their rhythm or their shot as the Dynamiques cruised to an 87-64 win. Isles top scorer was Jordan Thornhill with 16 points, while Dylan Cruickshank added 13.

Women’s Basketball in Exhibition Action

The Isles prepped for the second half of league play by winning three of four games at an invitational tournament hosted by CEGEP Edouard Montpetit this past weekend.

The Islanders opened the two-day event with a disappointing 53-51 loss to the Old School Lynx. John Abbott trailed by 16 in the first half but a spirited rally saw the Islanders tie the game at 51 in the final minute of play. The Old School Lynx scored the winning basket in the dying seconds of the game. Kelly Corsi led Abbott with 14 points while Annie Pollender and Rikki Blumenfeld collected 11 points apiece.

In their second game the Islanders routed Limoilou 63-37 behind Corsi’s 20-point effort. Pollender chipped in with 15 points while Andrea Batrla had 10 points.

Five Islanders scored in double figures (Pollender -16, Zoe Arvanitis -13, Darnelle Noel -12, Corsi -11 and Batrla -10) as John Abbott cruised to an 82-41 win over Merici. They rounded out the tourney with a hard-fought 58-54 win over Garneau.

For more information please contact Chris Hunter at 514-457-6610, ext. 5787 or chris.hunter@johnabbott.qc.ca

PHILOSOPHY

The purpose of John Abbott College is to provide students with educational opportunities which will permit them to achieve, as individuals, their highest potential. This includes not only the acquisition of academic and professional skills but also the pursuit of personal growth and development.

Since its beginning, the College has actively supported participation in sports endeavors as one of the important avenues in the growth of the individual and his/her well being. The specific aim of the Sports and Recreation Department is to implement programs which will meet student needs and interests in the areas of recreation, intramural, and inter-collegiate activities. The department also provides for student involvement in the development and organization of these activities.

The dedication of the athletes, the quality of coaching and the professional approach of staff members responsible for the sports programs have all combined to thrust the College to the forefront in terms of overall excellence and achievement, both at the provincial and national levels. We are justly proud of our accomplishments and the following pages are a tribute to those John Abbott people associated with our effort in the area of athletics.

rseq-d-cmyk-hrccaalogoslimlogo

Contact Us

John Abbott College
21275 Lakeshore Road
Ste-Anne-de-Bellevue, Quebec H9X 3L9

Phone Number: 514-457-6610

Sports and Recreation Staff

Name Title E-mail Extension
Chris Hunter Manager Sports & Recreation chrishunter@johnabbott.qc.ca 5787
Sunil Ramgulam Assistant Sports & Recreation sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca 5321
Lester Torres Assistant Sports & Recreation lester.torres@johnabbott.qc.ca 5324

Facilities

Name Title E-mail Extension
Stephen Giovannoni Casgrain Center Daytime steveg@johnabbott.qc.ca 5784
Shawn Malcolm Casgrain Center Evening shawn.malcolm@johnabbott.qc.ca 5780
Kristin Harmidy Casgrain Pool kristin.harmidy@johnabbott.qc.ca 5756

Sport Medicine

Name Title E-mail Extension
Dr. Richard Germain Team Physician 5308
Audrey Doyon-Lessard Head Athletic Therapist audrey.doyon-lessard@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Nina Benisty Athletic Therapist nina.benisty@johnabbott.qc.ca 5086
Catherine Berryman Athletic Therapist catherineberri@gmail.com 5086

Varsity Coaches

Name Title E-mail
Anthony Haddad Baseball General Manager a.haddad@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave King Men’s Basketball Head Coach dkhoopsteracademy@gmail.com
Mike Hickey Women’s Basketball Head Coach mhickey23@hotmail.com
TBD Cheerleading Head Coach
Micheal Foy Cross Country Head Coach michael.foy@johnabbott.qc.ca
Saadia Ashraf Flag Football Head Coach warriors.hurricanes@gmail.com
Patrick Gregory Football Head Coach JACfootball@johnabbott.qc.ca
Joel Fitleberg Golf Head Coach joel.fitleberg@johnabbott.qc.ca
Noémi Marin Women’s Hockey Head Coach noum21_14@hotmail.com
Ken Cave Lacrosse Head Coach dave.pare@hotmail.com
Thomas Suchorski Men’s Rugby Head Coach thomas.suchorski@outlook.com
Wade Ashworth Women’s Rugby Head Coach wader70@hotmail.com
Carlos Carvalho Men’s Soccer Head Coach ccarvalhomtl@hotmail.com
Valmie Ouellet Women’s Soccer Head Coach valmie.ouellet@johnabbott.qc.ca
Dave Emory Swimming Head Coach dave_emory1@hotmail.com
Sunil Ramgulam Men’s Volleyball Head Coach sunil.ramgulam@johnabbott.qc.ca
Shawn Hughes Women’s Volleyball Head Coach hughesshawnj@gmail.com